Limitless: Creativity begets creativity

I watched the movie Limitless this weekend.  Eddie, a bit of an unmotivated schlump, takes a pill that unlocks the full potential of his brain power.

I’ve been getting back into fiction writing, and I feel I can relate to Eddie. My creativity synapses are firing again after far too long. I feel awake and alive, creatively, for the first time in a while.

Over the past few days, I’ve actually been coming up with new story ideas. That used to happen every time I stepped into the shower (best place for brainstorming!), but I ignored my writing for so long that I stopped thinking as a writer.

My work-in-progress is a romantic suspense (suspenseful romance?) that I plotted over a year ago.  The idea and first sentence came from long before that.  Simply working on this project, which I know will be awful and probably never see the light of day, being my first, has sparked my passion for fiction again.  I insist on writing this novel from start to finish.  I can count on less than one hand the number of pieces I’ve finished.  I don’t count the rubbish that was my teen poetry phase.

I’m also reading voraciously again–or trying too, in between teaching my 4-year-old how to read and potty-training my 2-year-old.

Thinking creatively is so refreshing.  I wish I hadn’t wasted the last six years I could have been writing and learning.  But I am determined to move on from here.  I will work on this novel until I have something written for every scene.  I will finish the short story I’m writing in the style of L. M. Montgomery. Maybe I’ll even work on more non-fiction…

The point is: I’m awake and I’m ready to go!

2 thoughts on “Limitless: Creativity begets creativity

  1. Sometimes, a break is necessary. I also took a break (while I was in university and for a few years after) and now I’m trying to get back into my writing, though I haven’t been brave enough (yet!) to start a novel again. I like to think that all those ideas remained dormant in my head while I worked on other skills (like plain old life experience and the ability to read critically that I learned from doing an English degree and becoming a book reviewer). You’re helping inspire me to get back at it and, like you, I’m finding that ideas are once again flowing!

Thank you for sharing your thoughts!

