Book Review: Tiger Lillie, by Lisa Samson

Lisa Samson’s Tiger Lillie is about a 31-year-old woman, Lillie, who is still
mourning the disappearance of her high school sweetheart while trying to keep her extreme wedding planning business going and striking out in the dating scene.

This book shocked me.  In a good way.  The story is entertaining and intense and emotional, and it seemed I was learning something new about the craft of novel-writing on every other page.  Here are just a few of those things:

1.     “…”  Brilliant. Much better than using words to state silence.

2.     Rabbit trails can be good!  Lillie is a very well-developed character, and even though her somewhat rambling thought process seemed disjointed at the beginning of the book, it all was necessary to understanding the story and the character.  Besides, Lillie thinks the way I think!  And apparently, it’s ok to write that way!

3.     It is ok to write in both first person POV and third person POV in the same novel.  This is one thing I’ve been vacillating about in my novel-in-progress.  I intended to write it all in third person POV because I want to show some of the antagonists’ thoughts.  But the first scene just came out in first person POV, and it was so much better than it would have been otherwise.

To anyone wanting to write contemporary fiction, Christian or otherwise, I say: Read Lisa Samson’s work!  I have another of her books waiting for me at the library.

To anyone wanting to read edgier contemporary Christian fiction, I say: Read Lisa Samson’s work!

Thanks to The Koala Bear Writer for recommending this author.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Tiger Lillie, by Lisa Samson

  1. Now I’ve gotta check out this book! 🙂 I loved her book The Passion of Mary-Margaret. She’s so good at getting into character, which is what it sounds like she’s done with Lillie. I’ve read other books where the author switches between 1st and 3rd POV… Frank Peretti does that in The Visitation (first time I encountered it) and Charles Dickens does it in Bleak House (so it’s not new!!!) and it works great in those novels. Definately allows the author some flexibility and the advantages of both POVs.

    1. I think I’ve requested The Passion of Mary-Margaret from the library. I’ve been meaning to read Dickens’ Bleak House too. I usually read classics online (www.gutenberg.org). Instant gratification that doesn’t involve packing the kids into the car.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts!

