The Write Track, by Betty Jane Wylie

How to Succeed as a Freelance Writer in CanadaI’ve just started reading The Write Track by Betty Jane Wylie.  It’s been such a long time since my magazine writing class that I needed a refresher on freelance writing.  I came across an interesting little parable in the book.  It is about a poor baker and his wife who shelter a beggar, sharing the little they have.  Before he leaves in the morning, he tells them “Whatever you do first, that you will do all day.”  Of course the baker and his wife start baking cookies, and the flour never runs out and they have more customers than they can serve, and they make lots of money.

I love the concept of starting each day with the thing that is most important to you.  Most of the time, my day starts with my daughter yelling “Mom! There’s a seven for the first number!” Meaning, it’s after seven o’clock and she wants me to get out of bed already!  Then I have to feed the kids breakfast, and somehow squeeze in a workout (I love my Wii Fit!) and a shower.

Wouldn’t it be nice to start the day with writing instead?  This morning, I got up early, when my husband got out of bed for work.  I turned on the computer and attempted to write for half an hour.  I think I was still a little too sleepy.  I didn’t get much done.  But then I was able to exercise before getting the kids up!  It was nice!  No toddler grabbing the Wiimote, or getting in the way of my leg twists.  I did miss my daughter’s high-fives after each exercise though.

Ok, this is supposed to be about writing.  Right.

I feel great, and I’m still thinking about my story, even though I only managed to get two sentences typed.

I may try it again tomorrow.  Or maybe not.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts!

